Witches Abroad, Pratchett


Terry Pratchett's Discworld Novels:

Witches Abroad,
Terry Pratchett

Witches Abroad Book Review:

Witches Abroad , originally published in 1991, is the 12th novel in the Discworld series by Terry Pratchett.

Plot Summary
Witches Abroad is the third book in the Discworld series featuring the popular Lancre Witches Granny Weatherwax, Nanny Ogg and Magrat Garlick.

The story is about the three witches journey to Genua on the other side of the Discworld. Many misadventures take place along the journey, which entirely coincidentally may sound familiar to many readers. For example:

  • Rescuing an elderly grandmother from a big bad wolf
  • Waking up a castle that's been asleep for decades after a girl pricked her finer on a spinning wheel
  • Killing a lord vampire who's been terrorizing a mountain village at night
  • Encountering a strange, gray and long-fingered creature with glowing eyes, while floating down an underground river. When the creature hisses, "it'sss my birthday," the witches beat him over the head with an oar.
  • Nanny Ogg having a Kansas-style farmhouse drop on top of her (supposedly uprooted by a tornado). Nanny Ogg walks away unscathed, her reinforced hat saving her from any serious harm.



Please visit our sponsors via ads!


1. The Color of Magic

2. The Light Fantastic

3. Equal Rites
4. Mort
5. Sourcery
6. Wyrd Sisters
7. Pyramids
8. Guards! Guards!
9. Eric
10. Moving Pictures
11. Reaper Man

12. Witches Abroad

13. Small Gods
14. Lords and Ladies
15. Men at Arms
16. Soul Music
17. Interesting Times
18. Maskerade
19. Feet of Clay
20. Hogfather
21. Jingo
22. The Last Continent
23. Carpe Jugulum
24. The Fifth Elephant
25. The Truth
26. Thief of Time
27. The Last Hero
28. The Amazing Maurice and His Educated Rodents
29. Night Watch
30. The Wee Free Men
31. Monstrous Regiment
32. A Hat Full of Sky
33. Going Postal
34. Thud!
35. Wintersmith
36. Making Money
37. Unseen Academicals
Other Pages:
Contact Us

Please visit sponsors via ads!

Back to top: Witches Abroad